23rd May 2018, 10:40 | south_west

South West Rugby League ready for kick off

South West Rugby League ready for kick off

Two new clubs and a new structure for 2018!

  • New and improved competition structure in 2018
  • 2 brand new clubs and 2 clubs re branding.
  • Participant numbers in the region will more than double for 2018
  • A new concept for finals day
  • Champions to take part in 2018 Harry Jepson Trophy

The 2018 South West Rugby League season gets underway this weekend, with teams from Cornwall to Dorset all set to take part.

The South West Rugby League Management Committee met in January to finalise plans for the season ahead.

Cornish Rebels, Dorset County Giants, Saltash Essayons, Tarka Storm and Teignbridge Trojans will form the region's five-team league, while Exeter Centurions are looking to take part in friendly matches this year as they look to consolidate under new leadership.

Round one sees Saltash Essayons travel to Tarka Storm, while Dorset County Giants head to Cornish Rebels.

Meanwhile a 'Magic Weekend' takes place at Newton Abbot RFC in week two, with Teignbridge Trojans clashing with Saltash at 12pm, Tarka Storm taking on Cornish Rebels, 2pm kick off, and Dorset going head-to-head with Exeter Centurions at 4pm.

There will be silverware to play for this year as South West Plate and Challenge Cup titles are on the line, with the Cup winners entered into the 2018 Harry Jepson Trophy.

Find out more about South West Rugby League HERE.

Featured image credit: Teignbridge Trojans RLFC.