12th December 2017, 16:53 | ChallengeCup

Ladbrokes Challenge Cup first round draw

Ladbrokes Challenge Cup first round draw

Ladbrokes Challenge Cup 2018 first round draw with Gareth Ellis and Paul Wellens on Tuesday December 12

Former Hull FC captain and back-to-back Ladbrokes Challenge Cup winner Gareth Ellis will be joined by England assistant coach, Paul Wellens on Tuesday December 12 (7.00pm) for the first round draw of the 2018 competition.

The draw will be conducted at MediaCity and will be live streamed on the BBC Sport website.

Forty-eight sides will go into the draw to participate in one of the country’s oldest sporting tournaments with the first round of the 2018 Ladbrokes Challenge Cup played on January 27-28.

National Conference League Premier Division champions Thatto Heath Crusaders are joined by beaten Grand Finalists Siddal, who pushed Toronto Wolfpack to their limits in round three of last year’s Challenge Cup competition 

2017 Challenge Trophy winners, Hunslet Club Parkside, feature in the competition alongside a host of fellow NCL clubs such as, Rochdale Mayfield, Normanton Knights, Myton Warriors, Kells, West Hull and Wath Brow Hornets 

The Army, Royal Air Force, Royal Navy and the Police all represent the Services, while the University of Hull are the student game’s representatives for the second year running.

Elsewhere, Wallsend Eagles, the winners of the North East Men’s League are first-time entrants, alongside London Rugby League champions, Hammersmith Hills Hoists.

Strathmore Silverbacks, champions of Scotland, are joined in the first round by Welsh League winners, Valley Cougars and Irish League winners, Longhorns. 

NOTE: Toulouse Olympique XIII will not be entering the 2018 Challenge Cup. 

Full list of first round draw numbers:

1. Askam
2. Batley Boys
3. Beverley
4. Bradford Dudley Hill
5. British Army
6. British Police
7. Crosfields
8. Distington
9. Drighlington
10. East Leeds
11. Featherstone Lions
12. Hammersmith Hills Hoists
13. Hensingham
14. Hindley
15. Huddersfield Underbank
16. University of Hull
17. Hunslet Club Parkside
18. Hunslet Warriors
19. Kells
20. Leigh Miners
21. Lock Lane
22. London Chargers
23. Longhorns RL
24. Loughborough
25. Milford Marlins
26. Millom
27. Myton Warriors
28. Normanton Knights
29. Northampton Demons
30. Orrell St James
31. Oulton Raiders
32. Pilkington Recs
33. Queens
34. Royal Air Force
35. Rochdale Mayfield
36. Royal Navy
37. Saddleworth Rangers
38. Shaw Cross
39. Siddal
40. Skirlaugh
41. Strathmore Silverbacks
42. Valley Cougars
43. Thatto Heath Crusaders
44. Thornhill Trojans
45. Wallsend Eagles
46. Wath Brow
47. West Hull
48. York Acorn