6th November 2017, 14:26 | ncl

Freddie Walker wins NCL Premier Division Player of the Year Award

Freddie Walker wins NCL Premier Division Player of the Year Award

2017 Kingstone Press National Conference League Annual Presentation Dinner 

The Kingstone Press National Conference League held their Annual Presentation Dinner on Saturday at Bradford's Cedar Court Hotel. 

Thatto Heath Crusaders Chairman Mike Denning opened the evening and welcomed Kingstone Press Sponsor Phil Priest, RFL Board Member Damian Clayton MBE of the RAF and Armed Forces representative on the Community Board, Russell Murphy of the RFL, along with former St. Helens player and Master of Ceremonies Mike Bennett, and in addition Guest Speaker Leon Pryce. 

A full rundown of the awards winners is below:

Programme of the Year

3rd - Stanningley

2nd - Underbank

Winner - Crosfields

Fair Play Award

Joint Winners - Gateshead Storm and Kells

Secretary of the Year

Winner - Barbara Rawlinson (Stanley Rangers)

Referee of the Year

Winner - Joe Sterne (Castleford & Featherstone Referees Society)

Trophies were handed out to the below clubs by Phil Priest from competition sponsor Kingstone Press:

Conference Challenge Trophy was won by Hunslet Club Parkside. Division 3 Champions were West Bowling, Division 2 Champions Oulton Raiders, Division 1 Champions Hunslet Club Parkside, and the Minor Premiers of the Premier Division were Siddal, Premier Division Grand Final was won by Thatto Heath Crusaders.

Guest Speaker Leon Pryce was on hand to present the final awards.

Top Try Scorer was awarded to Oulton Raiders Dominic Flanagan with 39 tries.

Top Points Scorer was awarded to West Bowling's Harry Williams with 294 Points.

Best Club Media Award went to Woolston Rovers.

The Division 3 Coach of the Year Award was presented to West Bowling's Glenn Barraclough, Division 2 to Steve Gill of Oulton Raiders, Division 1 to the trio of Coaches from Hunslet Club Parkside in Martin Rowse, Paul McShane and Sam Thorpe. The Premier Division went to Richard Owen from Thatto Heath.

Player of the Year Awards were also presented by Pryce, with Division 3 Player of the Year awarded to West Bowling's Danny Halmshaw. Division 2 was awarded to the League's Top Try scorer in Oulton Raiders' Dominic Flanagan, the Division 1 award went to the Captain of the League's Challenge Trophy winners; and the Division champions in Hunslet Club Parkside's Jamie Fields.

The final award was for Player of the Year in the Premier Division, and went to Siddal's Freddie Walker.

The evening was closed off with a question and answer by former St.Helens player and MC Mike Bennett with the evening's Guest Speaker Leon Pryce.

Pryce spoke about his new coaching role, also the break from the game and why he felt it important to speak and help educate the youth in and out of the game, but also how he found been able to relate to everything about the amateur side of the game, which helped kick him on to the success he had playing.

He spoke about various points and milestones through the years playing and how he's looking forward to his new coaching role, which finished with a large ovation from the Leagues delegates.