29th August 2017, 11:00 | champion_schools

YEAR 10 BOYS | Castleford Academy 0-46 St Peter's Orrell

YEAR 10 BOYS | Castleford Academy 0-46 St Peter's Orrell

Watch the full game and read the report as St Peter's Orrell stormed to a big Year 10 Boys Final win.

YEAR 10 BOYS FINAL (2017) from Terry Gorman on Vimeo.

St Peter's brought the curtain down on the Champion Schools Finals at Richmond with a comprehensive victory over their Yorkshire opponents.

A solid first half performance gave them the platform to push on after the break.

Umyla Hanley crashed over from short range to open the scoring for the Wigan outfit with the loose forward adding the conversion.

Castleford fought hard to get back on terms but some sterling defensive work kept them at bay.

Having soaked up the pressure, St Peter's doubled their score when a well-worked move in midfield set Hanley free and his neat pass enabled Zac Lee to score under the posts. Hanley converted and then added a penalty to make it 14-0, but just before the break they were reduced to 12 men as prop Eoin Lynch was sin-binned for dissent.

However, Castleford weren't able to take advantage and St Peter's increased their lead early in the second half when Joe Charnock went over from short range with Hanley making it 20-0 with the conversion.

The loose forward then claimed his second try, a fine individual effort, which he also converted.

A superb length-of-the-field effort from Sam Burns was the first of a hat-trick from the full back with Scott Bradbury adding another and Hanley completing a 24-point point haul with three conversions.

Denis Betts Medal - Player of the Match - Umyla Hanley (St Peter's)


Castleford: Ben Knowles; Joe Abson, Will Buttery, Oliver Price, Jake Macdonald; Bailey O’Connor, Jacob Wolford; Lewis Vickers, Billy Marsh, Harvey Stevens, Jack Johnson, Owen Walker, Harrison Spence-Horton. Subs: Will Tucker, Sam Jarvis, Joe Herczeg, Vaughn Larkin.

St Peter's: Sam Burns; Brandon Melling, Niall Smith, Scott Bradburn, Alfie Clarke; Joe Riley, Terry Leaford; Eoin Lynch, Joe Charnock, Zac Lee, Lewis Nelligan, Mitch Ainscough, Umyla Hanley. Subs: Harvey Ruane, Sammy Glover, Max Gornall, Miles Durkin.

Tries: Burns (3) Hanley (2), Lee, Charnock, Bradburn

Goals: Hanley (7)